Applications for the 2024 awards are now open until 31 July 2024

The 2023 Awards were livestreamed (video below):

The New Zealand Association of Scientists makes the following annual awards to encourage public appreciation of scientific objectives, methods and achievements. 

How to apply

Click on the award name for more information, application guidelines and a list of past winners.

Hill Tinsley Medal 

Awarded for outstanding fundamental or applied research in the physical, natural or social sciences published by a scientist or scientists within 15 years of their PhD. 

Shorland Medal 

Awarded in recognition of major and continued contribution to basic or applied research that has added significantly to scientific understanding or resulted in significant benefits to society.

Marsden Medal 

Awarded for a lifetime of outstanding service to the cause or profession of science, in recognition of service rendered to the cause or profession of science in the widest connotation of the phrase.

Cranwell Medal 

Awarded to a practising scientist for excellence in communicating science to the general public in any area of science or technology.

Our 2022 Award winners


Our 2021 Award winners:


Our 2020 Award winners:


Our 2019 Award winners:


Our 2018 Award winners:


© 2024 NZAS | Disclaimer Sitemap

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software