Applications for 2021 Awards

Applications are now invited for the following medals in 2021:

Marsden Medal 

The Marsden Medal is awarded for a lifetime of outstanding service to the cause or profession of science, in the widest connotation of the phrase.

Shorland Medal 

The Shorland Medal is awarded to an individual or to a team in recognition of major and continued contribution to basic or applied research that has added significantly to scientific understanding or resulted in significant benefits to society.

Hill Tinsley Medal (formerly known as the Research Medal)

The Hill Tinsley Medal is awarded for outstanding fundamental or applied research in the physical, natural or social sciences published during the year of the award or the preceding three calendar years. Applicants will normally be within their first 15 years after graduating PhD as at 1 January of the year in which their application is being considered, unless career breaks extend this period.

Cranwell Medal (formerly known as the Science Communicator Medal)

The Cranwell Medal is awarded annually to a practising scientist (or group of scientists) for excellence in communicating science to the general public, in any area of science or technology. Nominations are sought from scientific organizations, scientific associations and individuals.

You can find here an overview of past awardees. 

How to apply

  • Interested applicants should apply directly, rather than seek a nomination.
  • Please submit electronic applications. See the guidelines from the links below and email application to: and to by 31 July, 2021. Note that in 2020 some applicants received bounceback email notifications from the address, so the second address is provided to minimise the chance of non-receipt.
  • Individuals or Scientific Teams (of up to five people) may apply for the Shorland and Cranwell Medals.
  • An applicant can be considered for only one NZAS Medal each year, but may also be a member of a team for a second Medal application.
  • Applications submitted in previous years will remain valid for five years from the original submission date (except for Hill Tinsley Medal applicants if the 15 year post-PhD limit is exceeded), but a previously submitted application should be updated annually using the current format.
2021 Award Guidelines

© 2018 NZAS | Disclaimer Sitemap

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software