Applications for 2018 Awards

Applications are invited for the following medals:

Hill Tinsley Medal 

The Hill Tinsley Medal (until 2016 known as the Research Medal) is awarded for outstanding fundamental or applied research in the physical, natural or social sciences published during the year of the award or the preceding three calendar years. Applicants will normally be within their first 15 years after graduating Ph.D. as at 1 January 2018, unless career breaks extend this period.

Shorland Medal 

The Shorland Medal is awarded to an individual or to a team in recognition of major and continued contribution to basic or applied research that has added significantly to scientific understanding or resulted in significant benefits to society.

Marsden Medal 

The Marsden Medal is awarded for a lifetime of outstanding service to the cause or profession of science, in the widest connotation of the phrase.

Cranwell Medal 

The Cranwell Medal (until 2016 known as the Science Communicator Medal) is awarded annually to a practising scientist (or group of scientists) for excellence in communicating science to the general public, in any area of science or technology. Nominations are sought from scientific organizations, scientific associations and individuals.

How to apply

All interested applicants should apply directly for the relevant award, rather than seek a nomination for their application. Applications are now sought for the 2018 Hill Tinsley Medal (formerly known as the Research Medal); Shorland Medal; Marsden Medal; and the Cranwell Medal (formerly known as the Science Communicator Medal). To be considered for an award in 2018, applications must be received by 31 July 2018. 

  • Interested applicants should apply directly, rather than seek a nomination.
  • Please submit electronic applications. See the guidelines from the links below and email application to:  by 31 July 2018.

Note that applicants may receive bounceback email notification when sending their applications to;  this was a challenge for some applicants in 2016 and 2017.  Please also copy your applications to buchananp AT 

  • Individuals or Scientific Teams (of up to five people) may apply for the Shorland and Cranwell Medals.
  • An applicant can be considered for only one NZAS Medal each year, but may also be a member of a team for a second Medal application.
  • Applications submitted in previous years will remain valid for five years from the original submission date, but the previously submitted application should be updated annually using the current format.
2018 Awards Guidelines

Hill Tinsley Medal - 31 kb .doc
Shorland Medal - 34 kb .doc
Marsden Medal - 31 kb .doc
Cranwell Medal - 31 kb .doc

© 2018 NZAS | Disclaimer Sitemap

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software